Skip to Main Content


Hurricane Michael Alert

Date: 10/07/18

Sunrise, Florida


Sunshine Health will provide all life sustaining services without regard to provider network status or service limitations for members in the 12 counties federally designated as disaster areas through Nov. 9, 2018. These counties include: Bay, Calhoun, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Leon, Liberty, Taylor, Wakulla and Washington.

Prior Authorizations: To help ensure the safety and well-being of our members, Sunshine Health is extending existing authorizations for home health services and durable medical equipment for members in the 12 affected counties through Nov. 9, 2018.

Emergency Planning: Visit the Florida Division of Emergency Management for information about emergency planning and available resources.


Prior Authorization: Due to the impact of Hurricane Michael, our Utilization Management department is prioritizing how we process requests for prior authorization for members in the 12 affected counties.

Sunshine Health will provide critical Medicaid services that are life sustaining such as: durable medical equipment and supplies, home health services, hospital services, nursing facility services, chemotherapy or dialysis, to Sunshine Health members during this Hurricane Michael disaster period. We will provide these services:

  • Without any form of authorization
  • Without regard to whether the services are provided by a Sunshine Health participating or non-participating provider
  • Without regard to any current Medicaid benefit limits

For members in affected counties with current home health authorizations, including private duty nursing, and/or DME authorizations that have end dates within the next two weeks, we have extended that end date to Nov. 9, 2018. This is for our Medicaid, Child Welfare, Long Term Care, Healthy Kids, Ambetter (Marketplace) and Allwell (Medicare) members.

Thank you for serving our members every day, and especially during this time.